The Paradox Series: 3: Hosanna is the Battle Cry

Hosanna – “Save us!

 

If you are listening and train your ear, you will hear God whispering. Others will call out life in you and you will write it down and look back time and time again. Sometimes God will say something crazy sounding that is meant for later. Sometimes that will eventually or right now change your entire life.

 

Once, years ago, on a porch in Africa, God did that to me. In fact, He said a lot of things then that didn’t make sense until now. Now it means more than my thankful heart can hold without bursting. One of those things was that I would be a mother and a wife. I would raise up a warrior family. At the time it seemed pretty obvious, my plans had been to do that all along. So, duh God, is what I was thinking in the most eloquent tone of course. It’s been on my heart lately though because I’ve recently been reminded of the promise. No, Nana, I’m still not married, but I am holding my hands open to receive it… you know, whenever.

 

Now my literal family, the one that is tangible now, is precious. I laugh recently at the string of serious texts from my mom (non-texter) that ended in “true that”. It’s been a somewhat unconventional upbringing filled with Italian hand gestures and unnecessarily loud family gatherings. We’ve got some prayer warriors and some good examples of fight. But I want more, I want new life.

 

So, warrior kids, eh? Warrior family? Warriors who are fighting now for the promise later. What in the world?

 

It sits in my mind, sometimes stirring to dance around or get the thoughts processed.

 

How do I fight for things while relinquishing control to God? How do I hold to promises while keeping hands open to receive and not grasp?

 

The word Hosannah means “Save us!” It’s a cry of surrender. It’s a pain-laden cry of desperation for new life. Save us. We sang a song about it on Monday a few weeks ago. Then it hit me. The words rolled through me like a waterfall, “Hosannah is your battle cry.”

 

Surrender is my battle cry? “Save us” can really only get me so far, right? So far, I’m working on proclaiming truth over my husband and family, proclaiming love and truth, and getting close to God so I can be that warrior with God leading.

But “save us” is hardly the cry of a warrior, right?

 

But, the truth actually is that the core of the heart of a warrior is a heart of full surrender and vulnerability to the transformation He has for those who love. So hosanna is the act of letting go, opening the hands, receiving and not grasping.

 

In this place of warrior hearts, surrender brings forth victory. Sweet (holy family of God) victory.

 

By the way, my husband is intensely awesome, and my kids are perfect and wild adventurers of heart and heavenly earth. I can see it even now. True that.

Leave a Reply

